need guidance in direction for new project

jlon

Joined Aug 13, 2009
I've just completed what I consider my first "serious" project, a hexapod robot with main processor and coprocessor, board home-etched using Eagle design, handcrafted 4-bit aynchronous serial data bus, and it's really cool, trust me. 8^) So, wrapping this up, I'm already thinking about my next project.

My imagination was sparked by this photo:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:YUNTEN.gif

I'm wondering if building a computer from scratch would be fun. I'd like to build one that I could actually do something with -- an 8-bit machine with a tiny BASIC or tiny FORTH interpreter in ROM for example -- not a 4-bit school lab kit.

I've seen some design ideas online around the 74x181 ALU and wondering -- has anyone traveled this (probably perilous) road? Would anyone like to team up?

If it helps to shape your answers, I'm a 30-year software veteran, not an electronics guy, and am learning this fascinating stuff in my free time. But I've come a long way from the single blinking LED in the last six months and am hungry for something new and hard to do! :)

Joe

mkbutan

Joined Sep 30, 2008
I'm wondering if building a computer from scratch would be fun. I'd like to build one that I could actually do something with --

hi i like your idea.
yes you can build your own computer but from a scratch that's better actually computer motherboard is made up of IC's hub's and IC's are made up of Transistors..............
then why not from extremely scratch
start with transistors
best of luck

mkbutan

Joined Sep 30, 2008
need guidance in direction for new project
its good
first think about the project
collect all the information about it
draw a rough design
collect the component of your design
assemble the ckt.
that's it
your project is made
best of luck
keep thinking & making

RiJoRI

Joined Aug 15, 2007