need chrismas light circuit

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by txfirefighter4721, Aug 11, 2009.

1. txfirefighter4721

Thread Starter Member

Jul 30, 2009
    Im gonna go all out this Christmas for our lights. What I want to do is make different sets of lights such as the porch one set, the bushes another etc. 6 sets in all. I want those sets to dance with Christmas music. Give the neighbor kids a good show. I have no idea even where to start.:confused: Prolly 6 relays to a strip but what should I use to control the relays. Also I have no experience in micro controllers. Please keep it simple. Thanks in advance guys.

2. jj_alukkas

Jan 8, 2009
    Are you interested to dance the lights with music without relays or microcontrollers?? Try this. If you need something specific, give power supply details and load to drive details.

3. txfirefighter4721

Thread Starter Member

Jul 30, 2009
    Sorry if I was unclear. I do want to use relays. Something very simple.

4. jj_alukkas

Jan 8, 2009
    Do you simply want to switch the 6 relays on and off one after the other in a running manner? How much are you into electronics, so that we could specify one according to your experience.

5. txfirefighter4721

Thread Starter Member

Jul 30, 2009
    I have a basic understanding of electronics. I recently built a circuit controlling DC motors with a pwm and h bridge with yalls help. I want the lights to dance with the music. I would rather it be random than inline. Every cycle different. Does that make sense?

6. jj_alukkas

Jan 8, 2009
    Dancing 6 relays will be noisy like a typewriter at full speed. Its not efficient. And to dance 1 or 2 relays is simple, but to do that with 6 relays would need complex circuits like the one I posted above. What device would you expect to control 6 relays other than 1 IC or 6 transistors with resistors?

Dancing to music requires another IC or I/O transfomer..