Need advice in purchasing oscilloscope

tomb

Joined Oct 1, 2009
Hello, First off, I'd like to say that I'm an experienced engineer but this is my first foray into low cost oscilloscopes. I'd like some advice on purchasing an oscilloscope to use in a home based test system. I've been looking @ the following scopes: 1. PC based scopes (PicoScope 5203 (8 bit, 250Mhz BW), CleverScope CS 328A (14 bit, 100Mhz BW), and Acute 1202 (9 bit, 200Mhz). 2. New bench top scopes (Lecroy WaveAce 232 (8 bit, 300Mhz) and Tektronix 2022 (8 bit,200Mhz). 3. Used scopes from ebay (TDS644B (8 bit, 500Mhz). I'd prefer a high BW/performance scope, such as the TDS 644B, but it would be very well used and not under warrenty. Next I like the WaveAce but I plan on using LabView to run my system and there is no driver for the WaveAce. The TDS 2022 can be used with Labview (it comes with a free version that runs some of the Tek instruments, and to go to the professional version only costs $700.00 (instead of $4,300) extra if you own certain Tek instruments. The PC scopes are attractive from a footprint point of view and I like the fact that they make use of the computer screen and processing power, but I can't find a PC scope with the bandwidth I want a the price I can afford. I budgeting no more than $2,500.0 for the scope so I'm limited to my choices. Thanks for your help.

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
"Home based test system" does not say what gets tested. If it's audio, try to find an analog o'scope - the ailiasing problems with DSO's can be frustrating.

Think about resolution, too. The difference between 8 and 14 bits is almost unimaginable.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
New or old, newer is better. If you're refering to the PC oscope it isn't that good, barely functional. You can't measure DC, frequecy range is limited (300Hz to 18Khz), among other things.