need a resource for custom built loudspeakers,a very unusual design

secretagentman

Joined Aug 14, 2012
Greetings from secretagentman !

I am new to this forum, and the whole concept. I have read the instructional thread, and will attempt to comply. I am in need of a source of custom built loudspeakers. I am working on a project concerning the attenuation of vacuum tube type guitar amplifiers. I apologize in that I have no scanner at present, so I can't post a schematic(and wouldn't know how if I had one). I am also fairly new to computing in general.
The speaker(s) I have in mind need to fall in the frequency response range of approximately 70hz-4,000hz minimum. They need to be as linear as possible within this range, and for now need to have a power handling capacity of at least 20W.R.M.S. I am interested in speakers that are rated
for Z at 4,8, and 16 Ohms. I haven't had any luck Googling the matter, but I'm no expert at doing this either. I guess I'm rather a "basket case".
Any advice or opinions are very welcome.:)

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
On a more fundamental level attenuation and amplifier don't really seem to go together. There is nothing magic about speaker construction despite what the golden ears would have you believe. It is a paper or metallic membrane attached to a coil inside a magnet.

An amplifier converts DC power to AC power for the purpose of driving a load. The problem is that the load (speakers) do not have constant or even 'linear' characteristics across the audio frequency range. Everything you do to achieve a "superior" listening experience involves compromises. That's the long and short of it.

PS - I sincerely doubt that your design is as unique and innovative as you think it is.

secretagentman

Joined Aug 14, 2012