Need a alarm circuit built 12volt

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by billkater, Apr 28, 2011.

1. billkater

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 28, 2011
    Hello all. I am a complete newbie to electronics. But I know what I want can be done. So here is the deal.

My buddy bales hay. The monitor has a alarm/buzzer on it that will go off when it is time to tie off a bale. The problem is, the buzzer is not loud enough (he is getting hard of hearing) or does it buzz long enough. (only about a 3 second buzz).

I thought that you could install a light to the system that when activated (jumper off the buzzer) would stay on until manually reset. The system is in a tractor and is a 12volt system. I have not opened up the case so I am not sure about anything else.

If someone would point me into the right direction and tell me what is needed I am sure that I could come up with something. Attached is a picture of the front of the monitor.

Thanks for any help you can give in advance.

Bill

[​IMG]

2. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    Should be do-able. Can you provide more information about the monitor, such as manufacturer and model number? How is it powered? Does it look like you could easily open it up?

3. billkater

Apr 28, 2011
    I will see if I can get more info in the morning.

4. gerty

AAC Fanatic!

Aug 30, 2007
    Wouldn't hurt to know what type of sensor indicates it's time to tie off.

5. billkater

Apr 28, 2011
    Ok, I opened up the monitor today. It has a small circuit board inside and the buzzer. It is a: Audiolarm MC-V07-130-Q. The buzzer hooks straight to the circuit board. The board has a connector on it that goes to the baler.

On the baler there is a micro switch that tells the monitor that it is time to start the bale tying process. The switch is activated by a cam so it is a on and right back off action, about a half a second on.