Need 7 Volts of Instant Power Using AA Batteries Only!

dc original

Joined Sep 25, 2009
Hi Everyone -

My name is Jason. I found your Forum browsing the net and hope you can make things a little more clear than other information I've found. Here we go...

I need to fire a solenoid (tubular, push-type) with 5 pounds of force using only batteries (anything you could find at Walgreens, whether it's AA's, a 9-volt, D's or whatever else). According to the solenoid specs I'll need around 7 volts instantly to produce the 5 pounds of force. I don't have the solenoid in hand yet to experiment but I'm told batteries alone will not give the instant voltage I need. So I'm researching capacitors and how they could help in this system (I was told to do some research on how a camera flash works). As far as recharging I'd need a new full charge within 30 seconds to a minute.

I'm a mechanical engineer working on a home mechanical project and am pretty much a layman when it comes to the above scenario. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks for your time,
Jason

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Use large capacitors to store that energy and for quick release. The batteries themselves can't do it, but they can charge capacitors, which can.

bountyhunter

Joined Sep 7, 2009
NiCad batteries can deliver very high peak currents. You could use sixe cells in series. Alkaline or carbon zinc can not because their internal impedance is too high.

dc original

Joined Sep 25, 2009
Bertus - I was told just using (5) 1.5 volt AA's will not work due to the fact the power release will be too slow. I'll do some testing with this method on Monday when I recieve the solenoids but expect not to reach the 5 pounds of force I need.

Bill Marsden - I was thinking I may be able to use a relatively small capacitor (something just larger than the voltage I need) but am unsure how I would set-up the circuit. I'll be using a push button to activate the solenoid and an on/off toggle to active/kill the system.