naming components

Zanac-X

Joined Dec 23, 2011
hey guys :)

i found an old radio/type recorder in the dumpster and won big time,good clean 6V motor ,transformer ,2 loaded PCBs and im very happy

but i need your help with something here :

1- the transformer is clean i haven't tested it with my voltmeter until now but i was wondering how will i find the transformation rate if its not written in the case like normal transformer, is there any way other than using a voltmeter.

2-the other component is a microphone right ? , how can i test it ? , any advice you can give me as i have never worked with one before.

3- this DC jack (what is the proper name for it ?) has 3 pins and im wondering what the third one does? ,and how the pins are arranged when i want to use it, and if there is a pdf link to it that would be awesome.

thank you very much :)

Attachments

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
hey guys :)

i found an old radio/type recorder in the dumpster and won big time,good clean 6V motor ,transformer ,2 loaded PCBs and im very happy

but i need your help with something here :

1- the transformer is clean i haven't tested it with my voltmeter until now but i was wondering how will i find the transformation rate if its not written in the case like normal transformer, is there any way other than using a voltmeter.
In theory, if the wires in both windings are the same size, you could measure the resistance and use the ratio as an estimate of the turns ratio. But chances are the wires in the lower turns winding are larger because they are going to handle more current.

If you measure the relative inductance of the two, you could use the ratio of that as an estimate of the turns ratio. You can do that in a number of ways, including measuring the time it takes for the voltage across a resistor to reach half a particular threshold and use the same resistor and the same threshold on both windings.