My first thread since joining !

Htrahdis

Joined Nov 26, 2015
Hello members !, this is my first thread since I have joined the forum.

I'm currently interested in RF wave transmission and reception. I'm basically an electronics engineer ( to be graduated) and know very well the concepts behind circuit design and analysis, and the associated mathematics too. But unfortunately, RF design was not taught in the university with much attention, all circuits we dealt with were low frequency ones. The high frequency models were merely introduced for formality. With such a situation, I would like to build circuits, starting from scratch, (with transistors, oscillators,etc) that can generate, transmit and receive radio frequency waves of order 1 MHz-100 MHz. Can the experienced members point to reference materials that I can avail of , which would promote my interests ?
The reference material can be any book , online materials or anything else, that treats the subject with intution rather than complicated math (though math and physics are welcome, as I am an engineering student.)So far, in my search on the net , I have not encountered anything useful.

Hoping your replies.

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Get a Ham license, and talk to the world with radios and antennas that you build. That is how I started. Still doing it daily...

kyka

Joined Jun 7, 2015
Ok, here are some hard truths.

First of all, radio engineering is really hard. You need immense amounts of knowledge and experience to even get started. Even if you want to build a simple AM receiver you need years of reading, IF you really want to know exactly what is going on. Otherwise, you can just copy a schematic from the internet and pretend that you understand how it functions just because you put it together.