My first project on breadboard?

vead

Joined Nov 24, 2011
I need help, I am beginner , I want to learn something by doing some work on hardware I I bought some electronics lab tools and component

small project - I want to blink Led using microcontroller

microcontroller -p89v51rd2
breadboard
wires black, yellow
battery 9 v dc
Electrolytic Capacitors 1000 μF
diode 1n4007
Ceramic Capacitors 22 ρf
7805 regulator
LED
crystal oscillator

I have made some connection on breadboard, not all but trying to complete I have upload Images please check out me and tell me where i am wrong. remember this is my first project on breadboard

Attachments

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
Your LED is getting power from the Microcontroller but, you have both pins connected to the Microcontroller. If you plan to do it like this (and you shouldn't - but if you did), you would need to set the Microcontroller pin connected to the a note (+) pin of ?LED as an output pin and set it high (1). Then set the Microcontroller pin connected to LeD cathode pin as an output and set it low (0).

The trouble with that arrangement is that nothing limits the amount of current flowing through the Led. Assuming your Microcontroller is running at 5v, you need to add a resistor (150 to 330 ohm) in series with the LED and one of the micro pins.

If you were able to set your pins conneded to the LED as described in the first paragraph, you may have damaged one or both (and possibly the LEd).

Test that the LED works by connecting it to your power (but using a resistor in series to control current).

Then try again with two different pins. - you do have a programmer, compiler and all that is needed to get your program to your micro, correct?

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
There may be other issues but the first one I see is the capacitor at the far left in the 1st photo, near the regulator. It has no contact with the regulator, as connections do not carry across the central "trench".