My first project -- how to use a circuit board?

koggit

Joined Aug 2, 2008
I'm extremely new to this circuit business. I'm about four weeks into an introductory physics course on E&M, and we're just getting into circuits (we start RC circuits next week). Since I'm considering majoring in electrical engineering, I decided to go a little deeper in circuits on my own, a little beyond the scope of the class. AAC has been a wonderful resource and I've been learning a lot. I've been going through the experiment guide, found here, and have been enjoying it (although my wallet has not -- $145 in three days!).

I'm on the Make Your Own Multimeter experiment and made this schematic:

I'm sure the symbols and stuff are wrong, but hopefully it'll give you an idea of what I'm trying to do if you're unfamiliar with the project. I'm pretty sure I'd know how to wire this just using wires, but my problem is transitioning it to the circuit board. I want to make this meter on a circuit board so that I can mount it in a project box, for a more permenant solution.

My big problem is that I don't understand how a circuit board is wired. How do I know which holes are connected to one another? I just don't know how to position my components to achieve the desired circuit (series / parallel and combinations).

I apologize if this info is available on AAC already -- if it is, please direct me to it. I looked, but couldn't find anything. The experiment guide available on AAC jumps straight into using a breadboard, then straight into using a circuit board. I tried Googling a lot of different terms but couldn't really find anything. Perhaps this is too basic a question to expect a guide on... but I'm too dumb to figure it out myself.

Oh, and for clarity, I'm referring to circuit boards like this one: http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2102846

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Gee, it's too bad you didn't ask for suggestions first.

You could've saved quite a few bucks.