My first PCB

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
Hey guys, thought I would share this with you. I got super gung-ho last year about making a PCB, even bought a laser printer just to do toner transfer. I read Bill's thread about making PCBs and I wasn't able to have any success because my printer was a Brother brand printer which apparently has some special toner that only melts on the surface of the sun.

I made this tonight, mostly from memory from what I studied last year, and I think it turned out not too shabby. I printed it out on the printer at work and used the laminator at work too; I had these tools at my disposal the whole time! DOH!

pic#1: I don't know why, but this portion of toner lifted off with the paper.

Pic#2: I just filled in the missing portions with Sharpie marker. Actually worked! go figure.

Pic #3: etching in ferric chloride. They sell this at Frys now I found out, along with a whole new selection of DIY PCB stuff. exciting! I believe SgtWookie was looking for stick on pads/traces last year and everybody said they are no longer made. They have those as well.

Pic #4: finished etching, looking much better than I expected.

Now I just have to find the tiny carbide bits I bought last year and make my holes! (more pics to come)

EDIT: oh yeah, constructive criticism welcome; are my traces spaced well? There will be 120V on some of them, 1000V on the upper left, and 12V everywhere else.

EDIT2: pics removed, wait, will repost.

EDIT3: pics re-posted

Attachments

Last edited:

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
Love your comment about the Sharpie pen- I used to make boards by drilling holes in bare board then just drawing the circuit on with a Sharpie pen, you have to use a new juicy pen to get a good etch resist.

nerdegutta

Joined Dec 15, 2009
Looks good, Strantor.

Just make sure you don't get any solder-blobs near the three oval pads.

Which software did you use?

Did you consider copper-fillings?

Mounting holes?

Attachments

strantor