My first PCB: doing it right?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by DragoslaV, Mar 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DragoslaV

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 24, 2012
    Hello all, first let me introduce as I'm new here. I'm a webdesigner and I'm new to circuits, with help of the interweb and with a network I managed to get the project done through the breadboard phase.

Disclaimer: I'm making a project for my scooter, as I read in the ToS I cannot ask questions about modifications, however I do not intent to mod any motorcycle function or ask related questions to it. I think this do not fall under the 'motorcycle modification', if it does, I apologize in advance for the inconvenience.

The project:
    I want to create a connection between my phone and motorcycle with bluetooth, my phone will send the GPS speed to my Arduino and that will control 5 LED's for a custom speed indicator. I currently have no speed indicator (which is not required by my law) or alarm module. I add this parts myself.

Next to that I have 8 opto-couplers which read a circuit (i.e. 1. Blinkers, 2. General warnings, 3. Fuel capacity, 4. Cooling warnings, 5. Alarm active, 6. Engine active, 7. Big lights and 8. Alarm pager active). Then the multiplexer will read each individual opto-coupler with the help of the pull-up resistors within the Arduino.

Next to the multiplexer, I have an 7805 replacement to step down the 12v to 5v, its the DE-SW050 and already have the right capacitors build-in. (The DE-SW050 has the same pins as an 7805, so please see the 7805 in my design as the DE-SW050)

Then I also have 5 RGB LED's which are placed within the 'HONDA' logo, if the blinkers are on the HONDA logo will light up orange. If I drive 20kph then the first two letter of the logo will be turned on, if I drive 50kph the whole logo will be turned on.