Multiplying a DC voltage without a transformer?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by electronice123, Nov 28, 2009.

  1. electronice123

    electronice123 Thread Starter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    I know an AC voltage can be multiplied and converted to a high dc voltage using a voltage multiplier.

    Is there any way to multiply a DC or pulsed DC voltage to say 20kV without the use of a transformer???
  2. SgtWookie

    SgtWookie Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    22,096
    Location:
    In the vast midwest of the USA; CST
    Going from a low voltage to 20kv wouldn't really be practical without the use of a transformer.

    You could use switched capacitor networks to boost DC, but it certainly would take a while, and you'd lose power in the switching/charging/etc.
  3. electronice123

    electronice123 Thread Starter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    OK. I was just wondering because I have never seen or heard of any other way than by using a transformer. Seems to me it would be just as easy to use a small inverter and voltage multiplier, or a transformer like you mentioned.

    Thanks!
  4. SgtWookie

    SgtWookie Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    22,096
    Location:
    In the vast midwest of the USA; CST
    Well, you can use switched inductors in a boost configuration to go up maybe 20x or so your input voltage pretty easily. But if you want to go from 12v to 20kv, that's really a different ballgame.
  5. Bill_Marsden

    Bill_Marsden Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    19,331
    Location:
    Dallas, TX (GMT-5 w/ DST)
    And you can use a diode multiplier for lower increases, like X2 or X3. It requires a switching oscillator though, but that is an easy option nowadays.
  6. ifixit

    ifixit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    596
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  7. GAMAL YONES

    GAMAL YONES New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    dear friends

    how can i calculate the value of capacitance and capacity of diode which use for voltage doubler

    many thanks
    gamal yones
  8. Bychon

    Bychon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    469
    Location:
    Florida
    LOL! The Van De Graff generator is a perfectly reasonable answer, considering nobody said how much current was needed. Thanks. Your imagination struck me as funny and I appreciate a laugh.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
General Electronics Chat 12v transformer voltage multiplying Apr 10, 2008
General Electronics Chat Multiplying DAC 4 quad vs 2 quad May 6, 2014
General Electronics Chat AC multiplying and converting Oct 22, 2013
General Electronics Chat Multiplying a PWM signal frequency? Sep 26, 2012
General Electronics Chat Incoming voltage offset/scaling question Saturday at 12:13 PM

Share This Page