Multiplexers

Jackal

Joined Oct 26, 2008
I am just starting to learn about MUXes and how they work. I've been understanding everything up to this point.

The problem says:
Implement a full adder using two 8-to-1 MUXes. Connect X, Y, and Cin to the control inputs of the MUXes and connect 1 or 0 to each data input.

This is what I came up with for a drawing. When I look at it though, it seems to me that it is more of a Half-Adder rather than a full since it only has 2 "inputs" I guess you would call it instead of 3 like a full adder would have.

Can I get help on what I have done so far?

http://img340.imageshack.us/my.php?image=8to1muxfulladdercircuitqp0.jpg If the image doesn't show up.

Jackal

Joined Oct 26, 2008
If all the inputs are the same then the output will be the same as the inputs. (If we are just talking about 1 multiplexer.)
So if all the inputs are 1, the only possible outcome for the output is 1 (and vice versa for 0).
Maybe I don't understand how that helps me solve the problem. I just assigned 0's or 1's to each input not in any specific order.
Granted if I'm wrong on that part please tell me.
Mainly I was just wondering if I made a circuit that was a full adder.

Last edited:

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Think of the truth table for the combination of bits. Arrange the MUX inputs so the output is in agreement with the addition of X + Y.

Jackal

Joined Oct 26, 2008
Well...
This is what I'm getting.
Lets say that X = 0, Y = 0, Cin = 1
We would get Input 1 and Input 9.
They are both assigned 1's.
With the circuit it has an XOR gate and AND gate.
Since both are 1's, they cannot be added together to make a Sum because the XOR is meant to make the Sum a 0 or 1, not 10. So we would have the carry out which is an AND gate which means it will only carry out with both of the inputs being 1.
Thus we have Sum = 0, Carry out = 1.

Did I miss anything?

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004