Multiple PSU design question

Jake4842

Joined Apr 6, 2014
Hello,

I have an idea for something I'd like to build and I'm new to designing circuits so any feedback is greatly appreciated! I have 4 devices that each require 12v and they draw about 400-450w (33.3-37.5A). I'd like to design a power supply (or 4 separate) to power them. I'd like to be able to ensure that if one stopped working the others would continue and it would also be nice to be able to switch each one on independently. So here are my questions:

1. Would I be able to run all 4 on a 20 Amp circuit? I think I should be able to but I don't know that for sure.

2. Is it more worth it to only use 1 transformer? If so, would I still have control of each "channel"?

3. I uploaded a picture of the power connection, why are there 3 wires for both 12v and gnd?

4. Many things I've read said to double the 33.3-37.5A amps to be safe but to me that seems like it might be overkill?

Since I'm still in the early stages of this, that's all I have for now but thanks for helping me get this going!

Jake

Attachments

GRNDPNDR

Joined Mar 1, 2012
For the transformer, you could use a multi-tap transformer that would give you 3x12V out then you do whatever else after that, but it sounds like you would need a fairly large transformer for 40 amps.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
1) That's not a picture of a power connection. That's a manual for an, "ANTMINER". Some kind of computer connected device. The power connections on page 4 have 3 holes for each side of the power supply because you can't run 35 amps through a single printed circuit trace without it smoking.

2) A 500 watt transformer is way too big to carry around, and you're going to need 4 of them?:eek:
Probably better off to use several switching supplies, like something intended for computers.

3) No, I don't think you can get all that power out of one 120 VAC outlet. National Electrical Code limits design current for a 20 amp breaker to be 16 amps.