Multiple led with ldr and batteries powered.

panzee

Joined Apr 4, 2011
I'm a newbie on electronics.I would like to build a project which light up around 30 LED(preferable white led) upon light sensor activation and powered up by batteries. Can anyone give any advice for how much complicated does it need to be done.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
It isn't that complicated, but you do have some reading ahead of you. I have a tutorial for LEDs, you need to read the 1st chapter and the 1st half of the second...

LEDs, 555s, Flashers, and Light Chasers

Combine it with this LDR circuit...

What is your battery voltage? 30 LEDs is a lot, and as a general rule of thumb the more voltage the more efficient the LEDs run.

panzee

Joined Apr 4, 2011
thanks for advise,
the idea is i have this headlight using 10 unit led powered by 3 units of AA (1.5v) batteries....so i just taught if it possible to light up more led with just using a PP3 (9 v) batteries and combine it with function of LDR. Should the LEDs best connected in parallel or in siries.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
If you are talking a small 9V battery it will last around an hour, maybe less. LEDs are efficient, but the batteries aren't. Plus, a 9V battery very quickly drops to 7V. With a lot of circuitry this doesn't matter, with LEDs it does.

Figure it like this. Each white LED drops around 3.6VDC. If you have a deep 9V battery you can power two white LEDs in a chain (total voltage 7.2VDC). For 30 LEDs that means 15 chains each pulling 0.02 amps, for a total of 0.3 amps. For a small battery this is a lot of current, 1/3 of an amp!

If you had 12V you could have 3 LEDs in a chain (total voltage 10.8VDC). This means you would have 10 chains each pulling 0.02A, for a total of 0.2 amps. Better, but not great.

If you had 24V you could have 6 LEDs in a chain, 21.6VDC, and 5 chains. Total current is 0.1 amps.