Multiple LED project. Absolute beginner.

xstackx

Joined May 27, 2009
Hello, I'd appreciate any help on this at all. Apart from a few flashbacks to high school, my knowledge of electronics is pretty limited. Here's what I'm looking to do:

Remotely power 20 5V LEDs, (10 red, 6 yellow and 4 green (I read in another forum that colour was a factor???)) and also power a small 15W light bulb (ideally on the same circuit but that's not a dealbreaker). I'll need to control each light individually with switches.

This is for a one off project that will most likely be broken up or binned after one use, so it doesn't need to be technically wicked, I saw in another post about having one switch which with every push would light another LED. That would be cool, but probably is more than I need if it's too complicated.

Further silly question, if I use these http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?moduleno=35737 that would mean that I don't need to buy resistors right, even with thirty of them?

SO if this: http://gallery.me.com/chrisstack#100052/Circuit&bgcolor=black is my circuit diagram...
what sort of power supply should I be looking at for 30 5V LEDs and a 15W bulb?
Is it better to have the bulb on a separate circuit?
What resistors (if any) should I be using.
Is there a simpler way of doing what I'm trying to do?
If I'm attaching metre long wires between the LEDs and the switches do I need to take this into account and what wire should I be using?

Again, any help on any of this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

At the page you gave us the current of the 5 Volts leds is given as 13 mA.
So 20 leds will use 20 * 13 mA = 260 mA.
Is the lighbulb you are talking about also for 5 Volts?
15 Watts will take 3 A at 5 Volts.

The total current will be 3 + 0.26 = 3.26 Amp.
A powersupply of 4 or 5 Amp will be fine.

You made one mistake in your drawing.
I think the thing with the smal circle is the light bulb.