Multiple Devices on a Single Power Supply

DanRilley

Joined Jan 13, 2008
Hello, I am doing a project for a museum that involves 3 devices requiring slightly different power requirements. Weight and size is an issue so I want to use a single transformer supply and then use voltage regulators to provide 3 separate DC outs. I am just wondering what the issues I may run into with this. I am a beginner at electronics, but from what I gather, as long as the 3 devices don't draw amounts over the VoltAmp rating of the supply I should be fine. Is this correct?

Here are the details of my project.

Device 1: Arduino (Atmel AVR 328P with a 5V regulator). Current draw is tough to figure on this but I think 300-600mA should be fine.

Device 2: Yamaha QY70 sequencer. I couldn't find any direct electrical requirements, but the suggested power supply is 12V 600ma.

Device 3. Creative TravelSound Speakers. Again only have suggested power supply of 5V 1A.

Power Supply: 12V 1.67A 20VA

So far I can run both the QY70 and the Arduino off this single supply by just splitting the power cable (The arduino has it's own voltage regulator so I don't even have to worry about setting that to 5V) Now I want to power the speakers off this 12V supply as well.

I have a regulator equivalent to an LM7805 (Datasheet) which can provide 5V 1A. Do I just need to run the 12V power supply through the basic suggested circuit of the datasheet (pg. 22 fig. 7) to get this to work, or is there a better regulator circuit that anyone would suggest? Since it's 3 devices off one transformer, what type of power fluctuations do I need to consider? Obviously power for each device needs to be very constant.

From my calculations (which I don't know if this is how you're supposed to do this:)

Device 1: 3VA
Device 2: 7.2VA
Device 3. 5VA

Total: 15.2VA
Power Supply Capability: 20VA

Does this seem like it will work?

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007