Mulit-stage Audio Amplifier

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by Dannyhimself, Jan 6, 2013.

1. Dannyhimself

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 6, 2013
    Hey guys.

I'm currently at university and am studying Audio Electronics as one of my modules. For our first task we've been asked to design a multi-stage Audio Amplifier using simulation. The specification given is:

Voltage gain 250
    Input resistance 200 kOhm
    Output resistance 5 Ohm
    Current drain 15 mA
    Supply voltage 12 Volt

I've been reading around the forums/internet and if i'm honest i don't understand anything at all. I'm completely new to electronics and only have the one module in it. It'd be safe to assume that i know nothing at all about the topic.

Can anyone lend a hand? Where can i learn about this? I do have tutorials but they seem to last 20 mins out of an allocated hour session as my tutor goes through things way too fast. I also only have a week to complete this.

Thank you for your help.

Danny.

2. bountyhunter

Sep 7, 2009
    If you are allowed to use op amps, this is a very easy exercise. If it must be all discrete then it's a bit tougher but doable.

3. ECC83

Jan 6, 2013
    It seems a bit vague, what exactly have you been taught so far so as to tackle this? I don't think any institution teaches nothing at all on the topic and expects people to come up with a solution.

Which university is this if you don't mind me asking?

4. thatoneguy

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2009
    Do you know what the stages will need to do?

i.e. voltage gain, impedance matching, current gain?

5. Dannyhimself

Jan 6, 2013
    Hi EEC83, i study at Huddersfield Uni.

We have been taught Potential Dividers, Transistor Amplification using BJT transistors and the effect of capacitors in the circuit. We've also looked at buffers.