Much Trouble Logging On

Discussion in 'Feedback and Suggestions' started by Brownout, Jan 23, 2013.

  1. Brownout

    Thread Starter Well-Known Member

    Jan 10, 2012
    2,375
    998
    I have to constantly log onto AAC. Many times, I log on and it takes me right back to the Log On screen. Often I just give up. It's getting rediculous. If that continues, I'll have to log off forever (not that anyone should care if I do)
     
  2. nerdegutta

    Moderator

    Dec 15, 2009
    2,515
    785
    That is weird. I log on OK, but if I'm idle for a certain amount of minutes, I have to log in again. I think there is some kind of:

    if user is idle for so and so long
    auto log out
     
  3. tshuck

    Well-Known Member

    Oct 18, 2012
    3,531
    675
    Perhaps the cookies need to be modified...
     
  4. nerdegutta

    Moderator

    Dec 15, 2009
    2,515
    785
    I don't know. It doesn't bother me. :rolleyes:
     
  5. Georacer

    Moderator

    Nov 25, 2009
    5,142
    1,266
    I know that the site has at about a half-hour log-off timer. BUT, if your browser has the cookies turned off, most sites can't log you in. Could that be your case?
     
  6. bretm

    Member

    Feb 6, 2012
    152
    24
    I'm having the same problem. It seems like something new in the last few weeks. I've posted plenty of times without this problem, but recently it has been bad. Example: browsing anonymously, hit "Post Reply", log in, type this response, hit Submit Reply, too late--have to log in again, then the response shows up.

    It does seem like a timeout issue, but the timeout seems like it's about 1 minute.
     
  7. Georacer

    Moderator

    Nov 25, 2009
    5,142
    1,266
    Okay. I know it's a bother, but try another browser, for the sake of research.
     
  8. DerStrom8

    Well-Known Member

    Feb 20, 2011
    2,428
    1,328
    I was thinking the same thing as Georacer. Could be that you have your cookies disabled, so the site can't recognize that you're logged in. Also, have you checked the box that says "remember me"? I would assume you have, but it would be good to know everything for sure.

    I'm using Chrome and haven't had any problems. I would check your browser's settings and see if you have cookies disabled or something like that.

    As for your first comment, I realize you're frustrated, but there is no need to talk like that. You have been a great contributor to this forum, and I'm sure you'd be missed if you left. For what it's worth, I hope you can get things worked out.

    Regards,
    Matt
     
  9. Brownout

    Thread Starter Well-Known Member

    Jan 10, 2012
    2,375
    998
    That's exactly how my problem started. But it got worse to the point that I get multiple logon screens when trying to log on. Sometimes, I give up after 8-10 attempts. This happens on different machines too.

    @DerStrom8: Not threating about leaving, but my time is precious, and I just can't waste it on problems such as this. I like this group of people and want to hang around. But I don't need to waste so much time.

    PS: Haven't had this problem in the last 12 hours or so.
     
  10. bertus

    Administrator

    Apr 5, 2008
    15,645
    2,344
  11. Brownout

    Thread Starter Well-Known Member

    Jan 10, 2012
    2,375
    998
    Usually not. I'm often repeatedly taken back to the log in screen. Sometimes, I can just start browsing the site without re-logging in, but then it eventually kicks me off again.
     
  12. Georacer

    Moderator

    Nov 25, 2009
    5,142
    1,266
    In my browser that top toolbar doesn't appear. But hitting F5 has the same result.
     
  13. bretm

    Member

    Feb 6, 2012
    152
    24
    I've never seen that Cloudflare bar. I usually use Chrome. Cookies are enabled.

    Edit: I made this reply with IE and did not have the problem but haven't posted with Chrome yet today.

    Edit 2: Testing in Chrome. Still good.
     
  14. Georacer

    Moderator

    Nov 25, 2009
    5,142
    1,266
    Keep us posted. Knowing about the site's hiccups is important.
     
  15. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,765
    2,535
    I still suspect it is related to location to some degree. I have never had a glitch, but I am in Dallas on FIOS using Firefox.
     
  16. Brownout

    Thread Starter Well-Known Member

    Jan 10, 2012
    2,375
    998
    this hasn't happened since I complained about it. Karma, I guess.
     
  17. Georacer

    Moderator

    Nov 25, 2009
    5,142
    1,266
    That's good to hear.
     
  18. sheldons

    Active Member

    Oct 26, 2011
    616
    101
    i cant log in when i use my blackberry-i get to the forum ok but looking at the forum page there is no log in tab....
     
  19. Georacer

    Moderator

    Nov 25, 2009
    5,142
    1,266
    I don't own a blackberry, so I can't test this. Is there an option to use the site in the normal view, instead of mobile?
     
  20. bertus

    Administrator

    Apr 5, 2008
    15,645
    2,344
    Hello,

    I am having no problems with login in on forum.allaboutcircuits.com using my blackberry tourch.

    Bertus
     
Loading...