Moving from assembly to C PIC microprocessors

portreathbeach

Joined Mar 7, 2010
I have been writing asm in MPLab for a few years and want to move over to C. I have a good background in asm and also wrote an iPhone app a few years ago in Objective C 2.0.

I have had a scan through the Microchip C Compiler user guide but wanted to know of any good information on starting programming in C for the PIC.

I know ErnieM will have an answer :)

John P

Joined Oct 14, 2008
Get a compiler and MPLab and get to work!

Personally I prefer BoostC. I can't stand the way Microchip's compiler functions as sneerware, always reminding you how much better your program would be if you had the paid-for version.

portreathbeach

Joined Mar 7, 2010
I've been using mplab for a few years now programming in assembly.

As you say, I should just get a compiler and have a go. It's just that I know all the different ways if doing stuff in assembly, and there seems like hundreds if different commands in C to get to know. I suppose I just have to use Google when I need to know how to do something at see what commands are available.

enggricha

Joined May 17, 2014
Been programming PICs for almost 10 years now, have used HiTech Compilers all along you could give them a try, lots of documentation online for a starter.

I know migration from assembly to C can be slightly intimidating, but then you dont have a choice...sooner the better.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Ask the question, which is more difficult, ASM or C?

After you have learned C, please come back and give us your answer.

Fortunately for you, you are learning about microcontrollers in the proper progression. Most would have great difficulty and perhaps no desire to go from C to ASM.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Whatever compiler you pick is just fine. I would tend to stay with microchip compilers since their libraries are quite inclusive (for my needs anyway).