Motorcycle Fuel Gauge Interface

MikMaher

Joined Oct 16, 2016
Hi Guys,
I've been tinkering with very basic electronics for a couple of months now and need some help with a project.
I've read the other posts on this forum about similar issues but none of the answers were really what I want to do.
Like many others, I have a fuel gauge/sender incompatibility issue and need a circuit to resolve this. The gauge is 0-100 ohm and although I don't have a sender at the moment, I'm finding it difficult to find one that suits both the Ohm range required and the limited size hole that I would want to drill into my tank. so far it's looking like a 0-190ohm sender would be closest option.
I've found a great gadget online that essentially changes any resistance measurement into any other by way of custom calibration. It's a bit out of my budget and I would love to try my hand at replicating it through reverse engineering.
Luckily the site offers a picture of the circuit so finding most of the components hasn't been hard.
So far I've got:
2x 1k ohm resistors
1x 220 ohm resistor
1x 1000uf Cap
1x LED
1x L77805CV Voltage Reg
1x MC7815CT Voltage Reg
1 8way dip switch
1x Potentiometer (unknown resistance)
1x Resistance network (unknown resistance)

The rest of the components IC, Potentiometer, various caps etc, I have no idea about along with the circuit required interconnecting them.
So far I've deciphered (perhaps incorrectly) that the two Voltage regs must be to get the voltage from 12v down to 5v, presumably for the IC.
I've attached a photo of the circuit board and the instruction manual to look over. If anyone has an easier way of doing this custom conversion procedure (ie. setting empty and full manually) then I'd love to hear your thoughts or see a circuit diagram. Please note that this is purely for my own use and reverse engineering this module is only to further my understanding of electronics and give me some hours tinkering in the shed.