Motor Speed Controller - MOSFET Killer

Status
Not open for further replies.

oddball

Joined May 29, 2011
I'm restoring a '72 Cutlass and redoing the electrical system. To limit wires going through the firewall, I was hoping to switch to a speed controller instead of the normal resistor block and relay for the A/C blower motor (permanent magnet, brushed). I've managed to fry about 10 expensive FETs at this point, figure it's time to ask for help. Overall it's a silly project (two wires through firewall instead of four), but I think it's really interesting, keeps me out of trouble, and sets the stage for a likely fuel pump speed controller in the near future.

Note that I'm not very good at electronics, so please use small words. I can solder OK, but needs to be through-hole. I'm currently working on breadboards (other than the high current side, which is soldered), although I think the timing circuits are in good enough shape to build a board. That, of course, means perf board for me. I have three scopes at my disposal, but the youngest is about 25 years old. Each has its own interesting 'quirks', so I switch between them often. That's all to say that I can scope the board, but I'm never certain if noisy/unstable signals are the board or the scope or my cheap probes.
I'm currently testing from a car battery, but will need to live with spikes of 16V or more. I expect to add zeners or a voltage regulator to help with that as the design progresses.

This will be mounted in the engine bay, most likely in a sealed box, so heat, vibration and the variances of an auto electrical system are important, and want to minimize radio interference. Also don't want the motor to sing. Switching frequencies from 2khz to 20khz cause it to make a lot of noise. The speed is selected by a four position switch which I intended to use with resistor sets to drive a PWM signal. Would like for the controller to support 100% duty cycle so I don't have to separately wire a relay.