Motor reversing device with timer

pakun

Joined Apr 8, 2008
I have a project that needs me to build a autonomous car. im trying to build a device or circuit that would make my motor run forward for a certain amount time , then runs in the opposite direction for certain time and stop without any switches involved. I need an idea of wat parts to use and how the circuit looks like.. ive thought of reverse polarity n stuffs but i have little knowledge about electronics.so any advice or suggestion would be helpfull....thank u

scubasteve_911

Joined Dec 27, 2007
If you want to get into autonomous stuff, you'll need some sort of intelligent and dynamic way to control your motor. I recommend looking into a microcontroller of some sort, personally, I use the PSoC from Cypress Microsystems. A lot of people use PIC though, some use AVR, etc.

You would control a motor's direction by reversing current flow. This is commonly accomplished via a h-bridge circuit. Google it and you'll learn more about it.

Steve

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Wait - that's it?
Just start up and run forwards for a while, then (perhaps) coast or brake to a stop, then back up for another period of time, and then stop - either coasting or braking?

No steering involved or anything - just time delays between events?

thingmaker3

Joined May 16, 2005
For the forward and reverse trick, you'll want to study a circuit called an "H Bridge." Web pages on the subject abound, and a search should get you started learning quickly.

For the timing trick, you'll want to study a circuit called a "monostable multivibrator." Again, an internet search on that exact term will yield a lot of helpful material.

pakun

Joined Apr 8, 2008