Motor control board repair

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Bernie D, Feb 7, 2010.

1. Bernie D

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 1, 2010
    Hi, I im a fitness equipment repair tech. 90% of what I see is treadmills. 60% of those treadmills have motor control board failure. I always just replace the board, which can cost the customer between $85-$ 300 for the part. My questions are, can I learn to repair these boards by taking an online electronics tech coarse? The coarse im looking at send you manuals, cd's and electronic kit projects to help you learn. What im hoping is to be able to repair a board in under a couple hours and then charge the customer for a repaired board. Does this sound like something worth pursuing ? or does it make more sense just replacing faulty boards. Thanks.

2. hgmjr

Jan 28, 2005
    The course you are considering sounds like a basic electronics course. The question that you need to answer is "What is the emphasis of the course?". In other words, what is the "skill set" that the course is constructed to give you once you have successfully completed it. I would think a course that supplied you with basic electronics theory with an emphasis on troubleshooting rather than design would give you the skill set needed to make you more efficient at diagnosing/repairing the equipment in your line of business.

In the end, I imagine you would like to maximize your income. At the present, I imagine that the tools you need are minimal since all you need to do is establish that the fault is in the controller board, swap it out and go to the next repair job. To diagnose the problem down to the component level is going to require not only the electronic troubleshooting skills but is going to mean an investment into more sophisticated diagnostic tools.