Motor Braking with a Mosfet

DannyKemp

Joined Jun 23, 2014
Hello everyone, well basically I’ve just started getting into the electronics and I’m finding that my passion is growing, with a thirst to learn more and more each day. But I’m still fairly new to it so my knowledge isn’t very good but I’m keen to learn. So any help or advice you guys can give will be much appreciated.

My project: I wanted to build a very small circuit that could stop dc motors from cycling after the connection has been disconnected, so I did some research for the best method to do this, I decided to put a circuit together using two Mosfets one N-Channel and one P-Channel to make a short that will stop the motor dead.

The battery I’m using is and 8.4v 3300mah, below is a basic diagram similar to what I put together that I found on Google.

Now this worked brilliantly but I noticed the short is rather aggressive, is there a way to reduce the amount it shorts easily? I tried using a 10watt 0.56ohm resistor between the source of the P-Channel which worked well and dramatically reduced the aggression of the short, but the resistor got very hot after a while, so I’m guessing this may not be the best option. Does anyone have any suggestions on how I could reduce the break without the circuit or components getting to hot, also bare in mind that I would like this circuit to be as small as possible without using a microprocessor? Any suggestions much appreciated.

DannyKemp

Joined Jun 23, 2014
No it runs instantly, soon as the N-channel stops the P-channel shorts the motor by shorting out the negative terminal on the motor by sending its power to the N-channels drain.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013