MOSFETs

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
I'm thinking of playing with some MOSFETs to try to understand them better. I studied JFETs in college, and I think I have a pretty good handle on them. I'm only interested in digital modes at this point.

Power MOSFETs, on the other hand, are pretty strange in some ways. The gate capacitance issue, for example. What is a good approximation of where you start having to worry about the frequency of the PWM?

The other thing is the 10V on/off signal I keep seeing described for proper operation, with some lesser voltage mentioned for other devices. How do you determine from the data sheet what the control voltage is?

Looking at the IFR510, which is sold by Radio Shack, is a bit confusing. Is the V(GS) (which is +/- 20V) saying it needs 20V to switch fully?

BJ Micro has several, the IFR520 seems pretty similar (same V(DS)).

Assuming capacitance is an issue, I have to use drivers to drive the gates both positive and negitive quickly, such as a push/pull transistor pair?

I also notice all the power MOSFETS are N Depletion types. How common is this?

Thanks.

eblc1388

Joined Nov 28, 2008
The other thing is the 10V on/off signal I keep seeing described for proper operation, with some lesser voltage mentioned for other devices. How do you determine from the data sheet what the control voltage is?
+/-20V is the max range of allowable gate voltage beyond which the MOSFET could be damaged.

Many have made the common mistake of using Vgs(th) gate threshold voltage as the operating voltage of a MOSFET. Don't. The MOSFET will only conduct less than a few mAs with this voltage.

A usefully figure is usually obtained from the rated Drain current which the manufacturer will often quote along with what Vgs will be associated to get this current. This Vgs will be the operating Vgs if one wants to operate the MOSFET to get that Drain current. Usually this is 10V for common, non-logic level N-Ch MOSFET.