mosfet

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by nepdeep, Oct 21, 2012.

1. nepdeep

Thread Starter Member

Sep 14, 2011
    Hi i have the circuit as follows, the opamp is used to maintain contant current through the sense resistor. how is it possible to get very high current at low voltage...but the current shouldnot exceed 24 amp.
    the problem is that if i use very low RDSon and sense resistor less than 10[m Ohms], then I need at least 2-3 volts to drive the gate, when the voltage across the sense resistor is 2-3,, and value of resistance is 10 [mOhms], the current is massive as much as 200-300[A], if i use low votage, the mosfet will not turn on,

I am just a beginner electrical student. ..please hit me with some clues and ideas, Thanks in advance.
    IMG-20121021-00096.jpg

2. nepdeep

Thread Starter Member

Sep 14, 2011
    constant current when the pulse is on..i mean that

3. Ron H

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 14, 2005
    Use a higher power supply voltage on the op amp.

4. nepdeep

Thread Starter Member

Sep 14, 2011
    if i use high voltage eg....4 V then the current on the sense resistor 20 m ohm would be as much as 200A and flow in opposite direction...isn't it....towards 0.5..any suggestion...comments

5. Dodgydave

Distinguished Member

Jun 22, 2012
    Its just Ohms law mate, you want 20A at 20-milli ohms so thats 400-milli volts.

So alter your voltage and resistance to give you 20Amps.

20A = V/R

6. JMac3108

Aug 16, 2010
    You have an op-amp circuit with negative feedback. The op-amp will drive to whatever level is required to hold its inverting input at the same voltage as its non-inverting input.

So, as DodgyDave said ... its just ohms law. The sense resistor should be sized as: Rs = Vin / 20A.

Don't forget to calculate the power dissipation in your resistor and choose an appropriately sized resistor.