MOSFET question

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by tiny747, Jan 17, 2011.

1. tiny747

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 31, 2010
    I am somewhat new to electronics and need a little help with some MOSFET's that are controlled by a op-amp acting as a voltage comparator. The op amp has a VCC of 10vdc. As I said it is acting as a voltage comparator. The output of the comparator (op amp) is about 9 volts when on to 0 volts when off which goes to the gate of my P channel MOSFET. The MOSFET is hooked up with a 12 volt source. It also has a pull down resistor of 1 M ohm. The problem is that the output of the MOSFET is always on. It seems as if the 9 volts is not enough to turn off the MOSFET. Do you guys have any suggestions?

2. thatoneguy

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2009
    Can you post the schematic in PNG format?

Which P Channel MOSFET are you using?

3. tiny747

Jul 31, 2010
    Eagle wont let me save it in PNG format. It only lets me save it in SCH.

I am using P-Channel MOSFET IRFL9110PBFCT
    the datasheet is here http://www.vishay.com/doc?91196

4. tiny747

Jul 31, 2010
    Maybe this will help?

5. Audioguru

Dec 20, 2007
    I simply pressed Print Scrn key, copied it into MS paint and saved it as a PNG file type.

The Mosfet turns off when its gate voltage is the same as its source voltage. Your gate voltage does not go high enough to turn off the Mosfet. Use an NPN level-shifting transistor to drive the gate low. Then when the level-shifting transistor turns off the Mosfet will be turned off by the gate-source resistor.
    Note that the NPN level-shifting transistor will invert the signal.

6. tiny747

Jul 31, 2010
    Awesome. Thank you so much. I have been racking out my brains for a while about this. I'm glad that the print scrn key worked for you. When ever I push that key it doesn't do anything. Thanks again for all of your help and insight.

:) :rolleyes: :cool:

7. Audioguru

Dec 20, 2007