MOSFET issues

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by mattjmartin, Jul 27, 2010.

1. mattjmartin

Thread Starter Member

Jun 7, 2010
    I am relatively new to MOSFETs and am using 20 in a project I have been working on. I built a CD spot welder based on schematics that I bought from someone online. He also supplied boards and has helped me TONS through out the process, but me being new and anxious to learn, I suspect he is tired of me bugging him! I have done a lot of reading, but these are hard to understand when looking at all of the specs on the datasheets...

The issue: I "suspect" that I have blown some MOSFETs (18 IRFP2907s to be exact) and am looking for advice.

First off, can a MOSFET latch open due to a faulty driver or some other aspect of the circuit? Common sense says that when the circuit is powered off, voltage at the gates would have to be zero (n-channel mosfets) and therefore they would not conduct. However, even when power is off, there is continuity between source and drain. In my experience, these things show physical signs of damage when they are fried (read: they shoot shrapnel across your living room when they "pop"), but none of the 18 seem physically damaged, which is the only reason I ask about latching open.

Secondly, what do I need to pay attention to when seeking alternative replacements to the MOSFETs? The IRFP2907s are what the designer called for and recommends, but they are quite pricey and take several weeks minimum to get as they are only bought from overseas sources. Digikey stocks several different models that seem suitable, but all are made by IXYS. As stated, I am new. Is there a good reason to go with IR stuff over these?

In particular, would the model below be a good replacement? The gate charge and input capacitance are significantly lower than the IR pieces, but power dissipation is relatively the same and cont. current ratings are higher (not that that matters here).