mosfet gate driver IC

dmta

Joined Mar 24, 2013
Hi all,

Can you recomend me a MOSFET gate driver IC for me from Texas Instruments. This is for a H bridge to control a brushed DC motor. I am using IRF530.

Regards

shortbus

Joined Sep 30, 2009
Not enough information to help you. A schematic of what you are wanting to do is needed. Also the voltages you. are working with.

dmta

Joined Mar 24, 2013
Thank you for replying shortbus!!!!!!!!!!!

This is the schematic. I am ready to ut the PWM inputs to the lower MOSFETS if needed.

untitled.JPG

shortbus

Joined Sep 30, 2009
Couple of things about the circuit. And I'm no real expert, just a hobbyist, so could be wrong.

Why are you using those mosfets? Reason I ask is, the Rds is pretty high compared to other new mosfets. The higher Rds will mean more heat and voltage drop.

You have the PWM on the high side(HS) mosfet. It is usually better on the low side(LS) mosfet. When on the HS it is called hard switching, when PWM is on the LS its called soft switching. Soft switching is a better way to go.

And lastly, why a Texas Instrument driver? Your using International Rectifier mosfets. TI is good, but IRF has a better selection of drivers.

What voltage are you going to use for the gates of the mosfets? What switching frequency for the PWM?

dmta

Joined Mar 24, 2013
Thank you for your suggestions shortbus.

I used the 530 because I have a couple of them at hand. I searched for driver ICs and found some. The thing is unfortunately where I live (Sri Lanka) those parts are not available. TI is the only place where they give out free samples to our country. Very sad situation !!!!!!!!!!!

shortbus

Joined Sep 30, 2009
This is why putting your location in your member profile is good, helps us help you.