Mosfet Failure

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by magantiamala, May 8, 2012.

1. magantiamala

Thread Starter New Member

May 8, 2012
    Dear Sir/Madam,
    I have started working on new project and i am totally new to it..My company has assigned me the first new task i seriously need everyones help as early as possible..because i have very less time:(

Development of a test setup to characterize the robustness of power MOSFETs during short time overload in linear operation

The task is to define a test setup for different types of power MOSFETs (e.g. Infineon CoolMOS, TrenchFET ...) for measuring the robustness of the transistors in linear mode, for which there is no or only limited specification in the datasheet.

Expected results:
    - Robustness (survival time) dependent on current and drain-source voltage
    - Failure mechanism of the transistor
    - Variation of robustness of a certain type of MOSFET
    - Comparison of transistor technologies (e.g. Superjunction vs. Trench)
    - Comparison of implementations (e.g. Superjunction-FETs from Infineon vs. ST)
    - Paralleling of MOSFETs, how good is the current sharing between paralleled devices
    - Test setup efficiently useable for tests of larger quantities of parts, with automation (e.g. control of function generators, switches, automated test result evaluation)
    - Test setup universally useable for evaluation of new devices when they become available on the market

This is my total project..

Let us consider a normal circuit with resiatance, voltage ,mosfet and anything we like we can design but it when current or volateg increases the mosfet dies i need some ideas how and what values should be taken to connect the circuit and i want to know few ideas???

First my question is that i want to know few ideas what are the causes (which point )the mosfet dies so that we can be below that point???

2. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010