MOSFET as voltage buffer - is this correct?

Dyslexicbloke

Joined Sep 4, 2010
Hi folks,
Trying to break down some stuff I don't yet fully understand into manageable chunks.
What I know about electronics is self taught and I am increasingly realising that I lack understanding of some basic circuit elements.
(Mostly because of things I am learning here right now)

Is the attached going to work 'like an emitter follower' (I think) and maintain the Source at VG + VGS(th) circa 12V.

VGS max = +/- 30V
VGS(th) min = 2v ( Dose this imply a range that corresponds to )
VGS(th) max = 4v ( fully Off @<2v and Fully On @>4v )
VDS = 400v
W max = 125W

If I am not correct, what am I missing?

(The range of input voltage is because R Load, the circuit I want to supply modifies the incoming AC once it is active)

Any and all comments welcome.
Thanks
Al

Attachments

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
That is not correct. The threshold voltage is some voltage difference between the source and the gate that just starts the device to conduct -
VGS(th) min = 2v ( Dose this imply a range that corresponds to )
VGS(th) max = 4v ( fully Off @<2v and Fully On @>4v )
In this case, it is from 2 to 4 volts. Full conduction need a Vgs of at least 10 volts.

Part of the fun here is that any current that gets passed through the FET will cause a voltage across the load resistance. That will affect Vgs in a way that causes the FET to turn off. Your maximum conduction might only be 15 - 40 ma.

FETs make poor linear devices, unlike transistors.

Dyslexicbloke

Joined Sep 4, 2010
Ah OK that makes sense given that I keep seeing references to much higher gate drive voltages than range above.

I get the whole 'source comes up reducing VGS' once the device starts to conduct, that is exactly what I was looking for.

Obviously I am not understanding the spec sheets, is there some way to extract a satisfactory gate voltage, device fully on i mean, from the spec?
Max VGS cant be right can it?