More LEDs, less current - LED Driver

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by okiedokie, Jul 5, 2010.

1. okiedokie

Thread Starter New Member

May 20, 2010
    Hello,

I am a completely newbie at electronics and got a mission to build a couple of led back-lit letters, the problem is that we dont have room for a descent power supply (because of heat in the very cramped space inside the letters) and the amout of LEDs I need it too high for my power supply ( i need 200 20ma leds for a 1amp 6v power source).

The solution I thought for this was blinking three led chains in diferent intervals like:

loop{
    chain3.LOW
    chain1.HIGH=20ms
    chain1.LOW
    chain2.HIGH=20ms
    chain2.LOW
    chain3.HIGH=20ms
    }

Since the humam eye has a frequency of ~24hz, this would work pretty well (i think), what about the power supply demand, would that work without overloading the power supply?

Sorry for the poor explanation, but like I said, I am a complete idiot in this subject...

thanks!

2. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    Hi okiedokie,
    Well, first things first - we need to know the typical Vf @ current rating for your LEDs.
    Vf = the forward voltage of an LED at the rated continuous current.
    If you have a manufacturer and part number for the LEDs, that would be very helpful; a datasheet can then be located for them.

Is your plug supply (wall wart) voltage regulated, or is it simply rated for 6v@1A? If the latter, you'll find that the output voltage varies quite a bit between no-load and full load conditions.

Sounds like you are using a uC (microcontroller) in this project, too. What brand and model? You know that most uC's have a working voltage range of 2.5 to 5.5v, right? If you go over that, you risk frying the uC. Your best bet is to supply the uC with a constant 5v, unless it is one of the low-voltage types.

3. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
  4. okiedokie

Thread Starter New Member

May 20, 2010