Monostable 555 not timing out correctly

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by GunsNTulips, Nov 24, 2013.

  1. GunsNTulips

    GunsNTulips Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    28
    0
    I'm trying to set up a simple monostable 555 timer to give me a voltage for a specific time after a trigger is pressed. This is actually meant as a hack to those musical christmas cards, so that I can press a button and play the song through. To test the circuit out on a breadboard I am using an LED with a 100 Ohm resistor off of 3.

    I am following the diagram on Wikipedia precisely. I have a 1 microfarad capacitor (PMG105 2K) and a 1 MOhm resistor. Off of terminal 5 I have a 10 nF (103Z) capacitor to ground.

    This should give me a time out of about 1 second. Instead, the timeout is inconsistent. It's never just one second, and it increases each time the button is pressed often, not timing out at all.
     
    #1
  2. tubeguy

    tubeguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    1,157
    195
    Could you post your schematic?
     
    #2
  3. tracecom

    tracecom Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    3,506
    967
    You know that the trigger should be a negative going pulse...right? And do you have the switch debounced?
     
    #3
  4. GunsNTulips

    GunsNTulips Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    28
    0
    #4
  5. GunsNTulips

    GunsNTulips Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    28
    0
    The switch button works properly. It just triggers while it is pressed. The trigger goes to the ground.
     
    #5
  6. tracecom

    tracecom Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    3,506
    967
    Build it like this and it will work. 4.5V is on the low edge of what a 555 needs to operate.
     
    #6
    GunsNTulips likes this.
  7. MikeML

    MikeML Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    4,272
    724
    Do you have a 10K pull-up resistor from Pin 2 to Vcc?
     
    #7
  8. GunsNTulips

    GunsNTulips Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    28
    0
    No. Pin 2 goes to the button that goes to ground.
     
    #8
  9. MikeML

    MikeML Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    4,272
    724
    Add the 10k, and your timing cycle will begin from when you release the button.
     
    #9
  10. tracecom

    tracecom Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    3,506
    967
    I don't think so. The 10k pull-up is required, but pin 2 needs a negative going pulse, so the timing cycle will start when the button to ground is depressed. The problem is there is bounce on the button.
     
    #10
  11. wayneh

    wayneh AAC Fanatic!

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    9,790
    1,630
    That's normal; the 555 output cannot get much closer to the supply voltage than that. It gets closer to ground on the low end.
     
    #11
  12. GunsNTulips

    GunsNTulips Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    28
    0
    I figured the voltage was normal, but I thought the information could be relevant. Tracecom's diagram works like a charm, but that circuit is going to be bitch to etch. I wish I understood what all the extra stuff did. I'm hoping the Circuit Analysis course I'm taking my group through will teach me.

    Now I will need to get the voltage and timing right for the greeting card circuit and shrink it down so I can wear it to win my ugly sweater competition.
     
    #12
  13. tracecom

    tracecom Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    3,506
    967
    R4 and C4 can be eliminated and circuit will still work. C2 and C3 are often left off as well, but I always include them.
     
    #13
  14. GunsNTulips

    GunsNTulips Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    28
    0
    By eliminate, do you mean short or break?
     
    #14
  15. Wendy

    Wendy Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    19,943
    1,986
    #2 pin must be high when it is not low, this is not a default.

    Also, when pin 2 is low the 555 will time internally, but the output will be stuck at high.
     
    #15
  16. GunsNTulips

    GunsNTulips Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    28
    0
    I see, so some of the elements added in tracecom's design were meant to bring 2 back to Vcc. Is that right.

    Looking at it, by eliminating R4 and C4, Tracecom must mean break R4 and short C4.
     
    #16
  17. MikeML

    MikeML Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    4,272
    724
    Post deleted, contained wrong information.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2013
    #17
  18. MikeML

    MikeML Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    4,272
    724
    Post deleted.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2013
    #18
  19. tracecom

    tracecom Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    3,506
    967
    The reset pin on a 555 is pin 4, not pin 2; pin 2 is the trigger pin, and is activated by a negative-going pulse.
     
    #19
  20. MikeML

    MikeML Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    4,272
    724
    I got the Trig~ and Reset functions confused.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2013
    #20
Loading...