Momentary switch to activate & deactivate relay?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by rogue909, May 13, 2014.

1. rogue909

Thread Starter New Member

May 13, 2014
    I am relatively new to circuit building. Most of the time it is basic switch & LED wiring for computer projects. But now I have one I am stumped on.

I am installing a power inverter, I am bypassing the switch on my power inverter and was planning to use a standard relay coupled with a mounted switch to do so. I ordered my switch and unfortunately the switch I received was a momentary instead of a toggle style as I am used to.
    Now, in order to keep the look consistent with my switch panel, I need to figure out a way to use the pulse of the momentary switch to activate a relay. Then use the pulse of the switch again to deactivate the relay.

Is there a piece I can order to accomplish this? Preferably I would like an off the shelf item, but if need be I am not afraid to solder a small boards but the circuit diagram would need to be explained thoroughly for me to understand it.

My electrical experience is that of an electrical engineering 101 class (i am a mech engi in training :D). So i understand the basic ohm's law, series & parallel principles but I can honestly say I have no clue what a relay looks like in a circuit :(

Last edited: May 13, 2014
  2. djsfantasi

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 11, 2010
    Have you read the terms of service on this site? Particularly section 6 which discusses prohibited topics, such as automotive modifications? The link is at the bottom of every page. I would expect the moderators to close this soon.

3. inwo

Nov 7, 2013
    A ratchet relay changes state with each pulse.

4. rogue909

May 13, 2014
    Was not trying to offend anyone, did not realize that posting with regards to a switch to relay question was going to prove problematic. Anywho, the offensive word "vehicle" was edited from the post.
    Thank you for the correction.

5. inwo

Nov 7, 2013