Modifying 555 timer alternating LED flasher to alternating triggers

drlids

Joined Feb 4, 2015
Hi, I'm tinkering with 555 timers to devise a clocker for analog synthesizers, using sequential triggers from a monostable 555 timer chain.

Looking at the alternating LED flasher circuit (e.g., as found here http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/blog/cookbook-entries.381/), it occurred to me that maybe I could derive triggers from both the sinking and the sourcing side on pin 3 instead, thereby using chained 555 timers to sequentially double the frequency of the triggers.

I breadboarded the alternating LED flasher and a second 555 timer in monostable mode, but I can only get the second timer to trigger from the sourcing side of the flasher. Should the sinking side be able to provide a trigger, or am I misunderstanding how the outputs of both sides work?

I'm new to all of this, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

dl

P.S. I realize that what I'm trying to do could be more easily accomplished using a decade counter driven by a 555, but I like the challenge, and figure it's a good way to learn about the ins and outs of 555 timers.

ScottWang

Joined Aug 23, 2012
The LED flasher is called astable multivibrator, what are the R,C values of astable multivibrator and monostable circuit?

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
@drlids
Yes, you can have two monostable 555 circuits trigger each other. I recently set one up to allow two completely independent controls of the alternating LED on times.

The only things you need to worry about is how to trigger the first one (possible) and make sure to capacitively connect them in a way that your trigger pulse goes high again faster than the monostable that it was triggering.

drlids

Joined Feb 4, 2015