moc3043 or tlp3043 defective or not ?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by kallquk, Oct 17, 2013.

1. kallquk

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 17, 2013
    many greeting all members

I registered just now to this forum, I have basic knowledge in electronics.

I need to determine if items above are defective or not, using a dmm or a test circuit.

can anyone help me ?

thanks in advance

2. Jony130

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 17, 2009
    In most application you can use both of them interchangeably.

3. joeyd999

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 6, 2011
    Based upon experience, it is highly unlikely that your optocouplers are "defective" (damaged, maybe, but not defective).

More likely, you have a problem in your snubber circuit, assuming you are trying to drive an inductive load.

Can you be more specific as to why you might think the devices are defective? I may be able to help you if you do.

BTW, there is a huge problem with black-market forgeries, especially with these type of parts. Unscrupulous vendors will buy cheaper, less capable, parts and relabel them as the more expensive, capable parts. They will ultimately fail. In fact, Fairchild will not even be willing to help you until you prove you purchased the parts from an authorized distributor. If you did not, they are most likely fakes.

4. kallquk

Oct 17, 2013

sorry, I meant "damaged". I have the same circuit in big quantity, there is item above in this circuit. discussing with a person, he told me that them got damaged often, so I need to test them if it is in working conditions or not(not defective by producer), using a dmm or building suitable test circuit

I thank you very much for the help

5. Alec_t

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 17, 2013
    Datasheets often show test circuits. Have you checked those?

6. joeyd999

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 6, 2011