MM74C08N acting strange

oleskiw

Joined Jul 23, 2013
Hi, I'm new to circuits and am having trouble getting this AND (also a c04n hex inverter) working. I put 4.8v dc (3AAs), + to pin14 vcc, and - to pin7 GND. I have a led/resistor hooked up to an output pin, and without any inputs, the and gate is outputting ~2v. As I touch the protoboard I have it hooked up to, the LED fluctuates. Whats going on here? Has static messed up the IC? I've heard things about using bypass caps (?). If I put +4.8 to the input pins, the led shuts off. If I run my fingers along ic pins, things go crazy. I have a similar setup with the hex inverter, things are just as bizarre.

Is there a better 7408 package I should use? Do I have to add some other components to get this working? Any help would be appreciated. I'm just looking for a simple way to get AND and NOT logic with 5v to drive LEDs.

Thanks!

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
1. At 5V an MM74C08 can only source and sink about 3ma, not enought to drive a typical LED.

2. All inputs must be connected to ground or Vcc. Otherwise there is no telling whether they will read high or low. Running your fingers across otherwise unconnected inputs willl couple your AC line frequency to it.

Bob

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
In addition to using a logic family that can satisfy the current needs of your LED and of making sure that ALL inputs are at proper logic levels (not floating), you also need to include a series resistor with the LED to limit the current to a resonable level.

Consider using an HC family (instead of the C family) and put a 220Ω or 330Ω resistor in series with the LED. Also, it is generally better to put the LED so that it lights up when the logic output is LO.

oleskiw

Joined Jul 23, 2013
I got it working, using pulldown resistors on the input pins. Was able to drive the led too on logic HI. Same with the inverter. True that the datasheet claims at 5v can source only 3ma, so how is it working?

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012