Mimicking my locating device's 2.4GHz signals

hedgehog90

Joined Sep 6, 2012
Hi, I'm new to this, not really much of an electronics/arduino buff so bear with me.

I want to create something which will do what my store-bought locating device (Loc8tor Plus) does, but I'd like to attach it to the roof of my house and make it operable from indoors.
Our 2 cats have homing tags on their collars that allows us to locate them and get them in at a certain time. It requires that I go outside looking all around the garden or if I'm lazy, from my windows, but often they're nowhere near the garden, and it sometimes requires several trips outdoors and lots of calling.
I don't want them staying out past 3-4 when the roads are busy, having lost 2 cats that way. Also, being the Summer, they're prone to staying out as long as they can (didn't get one of them until 5:00 today)
Also, by placing it on the roof of my house, I have a much better chance of detecting them and I can simply toggle it to search for a tag constantly, while the loc8tor gives up after a few minutes if no signal is detected and requires manual input to retry.

So far, I've copied the setup from this thread: http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=54795.0
I've tested it and it appears to work pretty well, it detects bluetooth signals and the signals from my loc8tor.

I need to mimic the signal my loc8tor puts out for each tag. They each have a unique signal so my loc8tor can tell which is which, so each tag would have to be registered (ie, have it's unique signal recorded) with my device.
Then, I need to know what the tag sends upon receiving the message. The tags aren't constantly working, they wait for a signal from the loc8tor, and then they send back a signal.

I can write a program to interface with the arduino remotely and to render the received data (via wifi probably)