Micropump Bearing Lubrication

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by joeyd999, Mar 28, 2014.

1. joeyd999

Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

Jun 6, 2011
    I've been using this diaphragm micropump for many years in a few of my products:

[​IMG]

When it works, it works well. Lately, I've had problems with the ball bearing seizing up -- generally when the pump is exposed to cold temperatures.

What I think is happening is that moisture is condensing on the bearing, causing oxidation and ultimately failure. A squirt of lubricant makes the pump work perfect again -- regardless of temperature (i.e. expansion and/or contraction is not causing the problem).

So I want to lubricate the bearing before installing the pump. I need a low viscosity lubricant that will resist moisture long term, and not collect dust/dirt. This is not a field-serviceable item, so I need the lubricant to last. It also needs to be compatible with the plastic (ABS) housing and rubber diaphram.

Any ideas?

2. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    What you really need is a sealed bearing, especially if you want it non-servicable item, as any bearing exposed is going to attract dust etc.
    I have used the Silicone greaseless lubes before, but they will not last or endure as long as a sealed bearing.
    It may be worth looking into replacing them with sealed versions.
    Max.

3. joeyd999

Jun 6, 2011
    For various reasons, replacement is not an option. I must use the pumps I have. I am currently experimenting with Silicone, PTFE, and lithium based lubricants. I am also trying the old stand by, 3-in-1 oil.

4. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    I actually meant replace the bearings not the pumps, if this was misinterpreted.
    Usually the price for small sealed bearing for those pumps should be minimal.
    Max.

5. joeyd999

Jun 6, 2011