Microphone amplifier for speaker output.

dikidera

Joined Sep 6, 2015
Hi all.

I want to build an analog intercom system. At first I wanted to do it with just a few transistors and amplify the signal, but ultimately, it proved to be too difficult, as I am very new to electronics, in general.

With those problems in mind I set out and bought a few IC amplifiers. All-in-all I have these components:
LM386
LM741
9V battery
8ohm speaker
Electret microphone

The goal here is to amplify the signal of an electret microphone(which is generally between 10-50mV), and output to a 8ohm speaker, all powered via a 9v battery.
Upon further reading I was told that the order of amplification is LM741->LM386, because the LM741 has a max output current of 25mA thus can drive a very high load, whereas the LM386 has a high current and can drive a lower load like an 8ohm speaker.
However, I am not sure if the distance will be problematic, the speaker itself will be connected via a 20m long cable. I don't know if this distance will lead to problems, the cable I have has virtually no resistance.

Currently I am lacking a circuit for these, so I am turning to you guys for some help.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
There are dozens of different intercom circuits on the innergoogle, so a good way to start is run a few searches, notice that the many results settle down to a few basic designs, and get to understand them. After that you will have some questions, and be much better prepared to use the answers.