Microcontroller Usage in System Design

chonc76

Joined Jan 26, 2016
I am a software engineer looking for some advice on the use of a microcontroller in a new project I am working. I am pretty unfamiliar with embedded software but the system engineers have tasked me to assess the viability of a microcontroller in the system design running some pretty simple code that takes relatively small input on the order of KBs probably <10.

The system will be Tx/Rx data via a 1GbE interface. The code needed to execute is as follows:

Read 4 incoming values, V1, V2, V3, V4
A1 = Minimum(V1, V2, V3, V4)
Look up in a table (8x5 floating point values) based on A1.
A2 = A1 - some scalar
Write A2 to 1GbE

The latency requirements for the whole operation from time of receipt of V1 to write of A2 needs to be <20 milli secs, based on my limited knowledge any reasonable higher end microcontroller should be able to do this on the order of micro-seconds.

The 1GbE is connected to a high end switch and the published latencies under full load are 80 micro-seconds so that shouldn't be a limiting factor.

My questions are:

Recommend a microcontroller that has 1GbE interface. Budget is less of a factor so high end is not off limits.
Could this MC mount to a chassis? Or are there enclosures that also handle 110v power interface?
What is a rough estimate (order of magnitude) of the latency to do operations above, after all the reads are completed?
What is the typical interupt latency to factor, order of magnitude?

I apologize ahead of time if my questions are ill conceived or too broad. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
If you have the time I would start with a single board computer of the ARM variety (RPi, BeagleBone) and develop familiarity with the environment. Then once you understand what is going on you can turn a PCB to reduce the cost of making them in quantity.

chonc76

Joined Jan 26, 2016