Microcontroller platform for hobbyists ?

jeorge_kabbi

Joined Oct 8, 2012
I am a microcontroller hobbyist . from the research i did so far i found that i should choose the Microcontroller depending on what i want to do. this can work well for professionals since they work full time on it.however ,for the hobbyist that may not be a good option since the time available is not so much.

If i were the designer of a microcontroller platform for hobbiest i would make a full range of microcontroller boards with varying degrees of speed/capabilities/prices ranging from very small cheap board with few I/o pins and low speed up to fast/capable/pricy high end ones , with one high level programming language / libraries working on all of them.

I am aware of few of them such as arduino ,beagleboard ,netduino .. etc but no one of those has the "full range" that i imagined it should exist.

the question is : any such platform?

hexreader

Joined Apr 16, 2011
I would think that MikroElectronika probably come closest to the listed requirements.

http://www.mikroe.com/

There is no support for low end PIC controllers though (PIC10 and older PIC12 or PIC16 with 12 bit instruction size)

Libraries work in very similar ways whether you choose AVR, 8051, PIC 12/16/18/24/33/32, ARM etc

Processor specific code needs to suite the architecture of the chosen micro-controller.

Last edited:

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
A programmer and a proper breadboard. Does it for me. This way you can think out of box as much as you want. And you are not fenced in like you will be with those boards

BMorse

Joined Sep 26, 2009
I agree with t06afre. I mostly use pic microcontrollers for all my uC based projects, most pics can run with an internal clock source so makes for breadboarding and prototyping much easier, not a lot of components needed to get project up and running, just a breadboard, pickit2 or pickit3, and a pic uC.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011