Microcontroller digital sound

Discussion in 'Programmer's Corner' started by TwoPlusTwo, Apr 6, 2011.

1. TwoPlusTwo

Thread Starter Member

Oct 14, 2010
    I'm experimenting with an atmega32 microcontroller, trying to produce sound digitally (only 5V and 0V output). So far, I'm able to adjust the frequency of the square wave up and down with a potentiometer, and I have the output hooked up to a couple of active speakers.

I would like to start manipulating the sound some more, maybe using PWM or program some simple filters of some kind. But I'm very new to this, so I was hoping someone here could point me in the right direction.

So basically, are there some simple things I can program the controller to do, in order to produce different sounds?

Edit: I'm programming in C.

2. HallMark

Apr 3, 2011
    As per my knowledge i think normally People are using PWM or DAC to generate the Sound.

3. guitarguy12387

Apr 10, 2008
    This is kinda vague. But you might include the word "synthesizer" in your searches. You can get some goofy sounds with just different waveforms and some digital effects (think echo or modulating delay line effects)

4. TwoPlusTwo

Thread Starter Member

Oct 14, 2010
    Looking around, I found this synth on youtube. The way I understand the guy's description of it, he's not using a DAC, but is still able to generate different waveforms and filters just by manipulating the pattern of highs and lows.

Now I'm trying to figure out exactly how he does it, but I realize I might be in over my head.

I did some more searching and found out that creating a simple DAC with an R-2R ladder is pretty straightforward. Would it be easier to generate different waveforms if I added that to my set up?

5. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009
    His synth isn't really doing much different to yours.
    If you use a DAC the most obvious thing you can do is alter the volume.