Microcontroller audio processor

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by knutolai, Nov 22, 2012.

1. knutolai

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 22, 2012
    Hi and greetings everybody! My first post at last!

I am studying music technology and will soon begin my bachelor task which spans over half a year. I wish for this this task to delve into microcontroller programming and processing for use with audio. I have joined the site with the hope of finding useful resources getting me going in the right direction with my project.

My background knowledge:
    Currently I have some limited experience with Arduino which triggered my interest. I have been building and experimenting with analog and CMOS guitar and synth projects for over a year and built myself a basic understanding of both analog and digital electronics. I have programmed music in Csound and Python. I have a firm understanding of the former. Also I have taken a course on digital technology, learning about gates and may useful CMOS ICs.

I saw this (http://soniccrayon.blogspot.no/2012/08/anti-nautilus-or-autoglitch.html) project and was pleased to see how much it overlaps with fields I have some knowledge in. What I wish to do is along the same lines as the project: Microcontroller-based stompboxes/synth.
    After some research I am under the impression that I need to learn the language C to program the PIC microcontrollers as well as buying a development-module for compiling the code. Are there any more intuitive options to coding the chips in C that I have missed?

Right now I need to find out which chip type to use Arduino/AVR or PIC. Its the usual dilemma: Price/learning C. I currently own a Arduin Uno, but I believe it is too limited for my purposes. So I need your recommendation forum!
    Would I be able to produce the same results with a Arduino Mega or Arduino Due (the most powerful arduino unit) as I would with a 32-bit PIC chip?