Microcontroller and Language for project?

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by Nrets, Jan 31, 2008.

1. Nrets

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 31, 2008
    Hello all,

I am new to microcontrollers and need some direction.

I would like to create a circuit that will measure temperature (and humidity if possible) and write the data to a compact flash card. I'd prefer it be run on a 9V battery and have a decent battery life. If writing to a CF card is too complicated then USB to PC is fine.

So my questions:

1) Is this a feasible project for a beginner?
    2) What Microcontroller should I use?
    3) What language should I employ in my project? Assembly language or C? I know some other languages and I am comfortable learning either one.
    4) Should I purchase a development board or not?

Quite honestly my experience with circuits is minimal. I've programmed BASIC STAMPS before, but that doesn't really count. My plan was to follow a tutorial on reading/displaying temperature and just modifying it to write the temperature to a CF card.

Anyways, any help is appreciated!

- Bryan
  2. scubasteve_911

Dec 27, 2007

I recommend the PSoC microcontroller by Cypress Microsystems. It's so easy, an ape can use it. You can buy their in-system serial programmer for cheap from digikey, it's called the Miniprog and it interfaces through the USB.

You can download their PSoC designer software free of charge, but it does not include a C compiler. You would need to pay ~150$ for it, but you can write it in ASM if you want. You have access to on-board ADCs that can read your sensors, which are simple to use. Furthermore, there is an interface to a FLASH memory card which is extremely easy to use. You need to have the C compiler working to use the SD card interface though.