Microchip RN4020 Bluetooth LE

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by joeyd999, Jan 8, 2015.

1. joeyd999

Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

Jun 6, 2011
    Anyone have experience using the RN4020 module? Any hiccups or anything to be aware of?

Also, it is my understanding that, as long as you use the module unmodified, no addtional FCC testing or approvals are required. Is this correct?

Edit: I'll be using it PIC to PIC, not PIC to PC or mobile device.
  2. ErnieM

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 24, 2011
    Sorry I have no experience to share.

I have yet to hear about the FCC tracking down wild bands of roving bluetooth free booters,so if this is for your own enjoyment got for it.

However, I suspect you have bigger interests in mind, such as a commercial product. I'd hit up Microchip and see how wide their FCC authorization spreads.
  3. kender

Jan 17, 2007
    The documentation for RN4020 leaves a lot to be desired. I have to read every paragraph at least 3 times. Not many examples.
  4. spinnaker

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 29, 2009
    I have not used the microchip module but I have used one of those HC-06 modules from eBay. Very easy to implement. A lot cheaper too I bet.
  5. geoffers

Oct 25, 2010
    I haven't used the rn4020 (sorry I'm giving you as much info as everyone else!) I do have one on the desk ready to try though. I have used a Rn42 though, was quite easy even for a fool like me to get going, roving networks do a datasheet for the commands which is good to go with the data sheet for the Rn42.

Do let us know how you get on, the 4020 is half the price of 42 here in UK, about £4.50 I think, rs do list it as a development module though (not sure what that means?)

When I've finished building the house and the baby's bigger maybe I'll get to it :)

Cheers Geoff
  6. atferrari

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 6, 2004