Microchip LM74 Temperature Sensor - Wrong Temp

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by TimothyBlue, May 5, 2010.

1. TimothyBlue

Thread Starter Member

Jan 4, 2009
    I am an amateur hobbyist so please bear with me if I ask something obvious or dumb.

I am working with a Microchip TC74 digital thermal sensor. I am hooking this sensor directly to to a I2C bus on a Microchip PIC18F2550 microcontroller. The circuit is being powered by 5V from the USB port on my computer.

The temperature I am reading from the sensor is very jittery. I am reading it 5 times per second and the temperature fluctuates by a few degrees Celsius during a 10 read cycle. I think that this is probably because the 5V power from the USB port is dirty. I looked at it on the scope and there is a lot of noise. I am going to order the 3.3V version of the sensor so I can regulate the 5V down and try to clean it up some with some filter caps.

My other issue is that the temperature is being read about 8 degrees higher than it should be. I have put a couple of different thermometers in the room next to my sensor and it is always running hot. The data sheet for the TC74 says. "Output current should be minimized for best temperature accuracy. Power dissipation within the TC74 will
    cause self-heating and temperature drift error." I do not know how to limit the current since I am hooking it directly up to the PIC and I was hoping that someone could explain this to me.

I am using this sensor to try and monitor the temperature in a room from my computer using USB. Maybe I am not even using the correct sensor. I want it to be digital because it seems easier to use, but I am wondering if anyone would have other sensor suggestions?

Any help would be appreciated.

TIA,
    Tim

2. elementalrage

Jul 30, 2009
    I would suggest posting your schematic. Sounds like you need a current limiting resistor in there.

3. retched

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 5, 2009
    Here is the datasheet for the TC74.