Micro programming tools

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by Col, Jul 16, 2012.

1. Col

Thread Starter Member

Apr 19, 2012
    Hi,

I've recently started to work in a group of hardware engineers. We develop sensing systems and a bit of microcontroller programming is a necessary task which everyone seems to have been avoiding, or only just doing the minimum to get something working (barely working). Its a very common problem among electronic engineers I guess.

Personally I have programmed ADuC 8051, and PIC micros using Keil and MPLAB tools. I've always used assembly in the past but in these cases I have been doing major projects with plenty of time. I have some experience with C programming; enough to get simple programs running or to use code libraries and develop my own main functions

My first project here was on a STM32 micro, and I was pushed towards Eclipse as there was a source project we managed to modify for our goals. Now I'm using an Atmel AT91SAM7, and again I'm trying to use Eclipse. This time I'm going from scratch and I have to say my head is spinning with all the additional stuff GNU tools, GDB servers, J-link programmers, etc. It seems to me the Eclipse is developed by programming gurus... for programming gurus... and is not well suited to the electronic engineer who needs to get simple embedded systems running fast.

I keep thinking there must be a better way.. can someone advise if there is a IDE for micro programming across platforms. Or maybe my best bet to convince the group to go with one platform and one range of devices. Time wasted trying to figure out new platforms and configure development environments will quicky become very costly!

2. Brownout

Jan 10, 2012